General strategy for maintaining FC level (Daily routine?)

FailedChemistry

Jul 4, 2013
St Louis, Missouri
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hey everybody, just a simple generalized question about the way you approach FC levels on a daily basis.

With my CYA level at 40, pool math recommends FC range between 3 and 7.
So i try to keep it at 5.

I test my water every morning before the sun hits the pool.
Get up, go out and test, and the FC is usually 4 ppm. So i add enough bleach to bring it up to 5, then walk away.
Next morning, test - usually a 4, add bleach to get to 5... rinse and repeat daily. I've been doing this for about 3 years since i started coming here to TroubleFreePools.

But this morning, i had a weird thought—and maybe this is a silly question, but is this the right approach, or is that daily dip to 4 ppm a problem?

If my target is 5 ppm, should i instead be adding enough bleach to bring the pool up to 6 ppm before the sun hits it, knowing that throughout the day it'll drop into my target level?

I guess my question is this:
Do you guys overshoot your target FC level knowing that it will drop back down into your target FC level, or do you just hit your target FC level in the morning, and just let nature do whatever it's gonna do the rest of the day?

3 is your minimum, so as long as what you do keeps it above 3 you're good.

Id just remember to maybe dose to 6 or 7 if youre going to have heavy use, or a wind storm is going to blow stuff in or anything like that.

If you decide to go up to 6, youll use marginally more chlorine overall, but youll also have an extra reserve.

On a chlorine/bleach pool your target is 5-7, myself I would shoot for 6 or 7
On my pool target is 5 being swg with 70 cya, I like to keep it at 6-6.5, and when the 6 grandkids show up next week, I will have it at 7.
A little more doesn't hurt anything, a little less can cause a great big mess

Ok, interesting… i got confused i guess. I thought my range was 3–7.