Balancing after Reverse Osmosis R/O filtration?

bpavan

Apr 7, 2017
Dallas
Good morning y'all! Newbie here in the Dallas TX area!
We just got our pool filtered two days ago! And I'd appreciate some advice on the balancing! We decided to filter instead of drain-refill because I really wanted to try to conserve water as much as possible, and I believe we needed to filter because of high CYA and high CH. (all test done with Taylor K2006 kit)
Here below the values pre- and post- filtration. Water was (and still is) crystal clear, but we have some greenish stains on the walls I'm convinced is the beginning of some algae...hopefully with the lower CYA levels I'll be able to clear them out more easily.
Pre R/OPost R/O
FC14.52
CC00
pH7.87.4
TA12040
CH500120
CYA120<30
Temp70°F70°F
SI-----0.8

It took only 12 hours and it was done. Yesterday, we put in a floater with 4x3" trichlor-pucks to start adding some chlorine and CYA (slowly for a total ~6.4 ppm). Then Last night I decided to bump up the TA from 40 ppm to 80 ppm, to have a better buffer for the pH. I also wanted to raise FC to 5 ppm (it had dropped only down to 1.5 ppm). I had some Ca-hypo (65%) so decided to use it, since also I wanted to raise the CH a bit.
I used the pol math calculator, and put in 12 Lb baking soda and 500 g (1.1 Lb) of Ca-Hypo, and let the pump run for 3 hours afterwards to mix.
This morning:
FC = 5.4
pH = 7.8
Am I missing something here? I was not expecting the pH to go up that much.... Did I tinker with too many parameters at once??
What do you recommend next? Should I try to lower the pH (it took 2 drops of "acid demand" to bring it back to 7.4)? Should I remeasure TA and wait to see where the pH goes? If I got the chemistry right, the Ca-Hypo (or Na-hypochlorite) are basic reactions, but once the HClO is used up it's neutral....so the pH spike is transient?
I eventually would like to follow BBB method, and use the pucks only when/if traveling.