Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Use of chlorine tabs/pucks

1. Back To Top    #1

Use of chlorine tabs/pucks

I am also a newbie, and my pool 20x38 uses the tablets. I just opened it 2 days ago, took my water in to be tested and one of the items they sold was a new bucket of tablets, but everything I read here says tablets are bad. ???

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Use of chlorine tabs/pucks

Welcome to the forum. The pucks "can" be bad. They raise your CYA level to where you can't maintain enough chlorine to overcome any algae problems you may develop. Please consider one of the two "drop based" test kits we recommend in Pool School.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Jtwitt View Post
    I am also a newbie, and my pool 20x38 uses the tablets. I just opened it 2 days ago, took my water in to be tested and one of the items they sold was a new bucket of tablets, but everything I read here says tablets are bad. ???
    Welcome!

Tablets are great if you need chlorine AND CYA AND battle with high TA and pH rise. If you don't need more CYA, then they're a terrible idea. Likewise, how much convenience did you gain if now you're messing around with borax and baking soda trying to counteract the pucks? If what I just wrote is so much gibberish, check out Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

Might as well take a look at all the articles here except the SWG one. Pool School - Pool Chemistry

Lots of us use pucks when we're leaving town for a few days or the CYA has dropped a little. The good news for you is that they'll keep for years as long as you close up the bucket good and tight.