Good idea to switch to cartridge filter?

ares99

Apr 12, 2017
Powhatan
I live in Richmond, VA and have an 18x33 above ground pool. About 18,000 gallons.

Need to replace the pump and am looking into switching from sand to a cartridge based filter. My goal would be to make it easier to maintain and just have to discard and replace the filter every year instead of having to backwash, etc.

I have received mixed advice on whether this is feasible or a good idea and would appreciate any thoughts. This pool came with our house when we bought it and I am fairly new to the world of pool care and maintenance.

Thanks.

Most cartridge filters are cleaned not replaced and should last five to seven years. They can be a pain to clean but if you get one large enough it can be a once a year job.

You should buy a filter at least double the size recommended for your pool. That way you will only have to clean it once or twice a year.

Cart filters do a slightly better job than sand but few normal folks can actually see a difference (maybe at night with the lights on ).

Its a feasible idea if you don't like backwashing.

If you are backwashing more than say once a month you probably have to small a sand filter.

If you want to not need to back wash then a cartridge filter is the way to go. But you probably won't get through a pool season without needing to clean the cartridge filter based on pressure buildup. Depending on the length of your swim season and whether or not you close the pool for the winter will determine how many times you may need to clean it. I would guess you'd need to clean it 2-3 times at the minimum over the course of a 3 month season, and maybe as often as every 10-14 days. If you get an algae bloom you will be cleaning the filter daily until the outbreak is cured. As you stated, although you wouldn't necessarily have to, you could replace the cartridge each year.