SWCG v. Regular Cholorine System Intitial price difference

psualum

Bronze Supporter
Dec 28, 2016
Douglassville, PA
I'm an in-ground pool newbie getting ready to have a pool installed at our home this Spring. We negotiated price, plans, etc prior to finding this forum (its awesome by the way). The system quoted by the PB is for a regular chlorine system with a frog. I've certainly seen the negative comments on the forum regarding the frog and have also seen a ton of positive comments from posters and friends of mine who have SWCG's that has pursuaded me to explore the option of making the change in equipment now and going with a SWCG. I also understand from reading the forum that long term the SWCG is not necessarily more expensive when compared with daily chlorine, chemicals, etc. So, my question is not based upon the lifetime cost of the system, but more what I should expect the "upcharge" to be if I were to change out the equipment to a SWCG. The question is to just make sure I've budgeted enough $$$ for the build out as the costs keep mounting (i.e. Need for retaining wall, need for relocating my septic line, need to completely redo the fencing around my property, etc.).

Also, I'd love some suggestions specifically related to my pool as to what SWCG equipment you would recommend for my pool build. Currently looking at a 650 square ft free-form pool (may upsize to 700-750)....still up in the air. Our proposal provides for an electric AquaCal SQ120R 120,000 BTU heater if that makes any difference. Also quoted Aquabrite finish.

Thanks in advance and let me know if you need any more into to help in making your suggestions!

Happy Weekend to all!

P,

Whatever SWCG you buy, make sure it is 2 x the size of your pool. So if your pool is 20K gallons, then you need a SWCG rated at 40K..

This is because they rate SWCG's when running 24/7 at 100% output. You really don't want to have to run them full out all the time.