Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello from Arizona

1. Back To Top    #1

Hello from Arizona

Hello, I'm kind of new to pool ownership. Been in our house with built-in pool for just under 2 years. In that time I've tried doing the service myself and also having a professional service do it for me. Both seem very costly. And it was a struggle to keep the water clear and in balance doing it myself. So we just drained, scrubbed and refilled out 10,000 gallon pool to start fresh. So I'm joining this group to learn more and help decide if I should try taking care of it again myself, now that I'm starting fresh with new water, or if I should go ahead and let the pool guy take care of it for me.

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Hello from Arizona

Let me start with a hearty WELCOME to TFP! You can absolutely take care of your own pool the TFPC (Troublefree Pool Care) way for much, much less than paying a pool service or doing it yourself "assisted"/robbed by your local pool store. No doubt.

Best approach is to check out this page in Pool School (link at top of screen). https://www.troublefreepool.com/cont...ater-chemistry

Then venture further into Pool School. Read that page above twice a day for three days. HA! It does take some time for the learning curve to be overcome, but once the light bulb goes off, you are all set.

TFPC is based on testing yourself with a proper test kit, understanding what your pool needs, and only adding that which is needed to it. Test kit: https://www.troublefreepool.com/cont...its-comparison

Saving you the trouble, I'd recommend the TF-100, XL option and Speedstir. You can't go wrong with that combo.

As a starter question, do you have a saltwater chlorine generator? Or know what one is? I won't assume you do. But if so, there is one other test to purchase. The K-1766 Salt test.