Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pool Startup no CYA

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Pool Startup no CYA

    Just opened my pool yesterday and my reading are as follows:

    FC 5
    CC 0
    PH 7.8
    ALK 170
    CYA 0

    I didn't do Calcium due to being a vinyl liner. I have a 32,000 gal, Pentair 1hp whisper flo, Pentair Sand Filter, automatic cover. The water is crystal clear. Should I bring up my CYA first?
    IG 32K, vinyl, 1hp Pentair, Sand Filter, Vanquish cleaning system, automatic cover.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    Welcome to TFP!

    Yes, you should raise the CYA level.

    It is a good idea to do a CH test at least once or twice a season with a vinyl liner. Vinyl doesn't care if the CH level is too low, but high CH levels can cause problems for any kind of pool. A quick test to be sure the CH level isn't getting too high is simple enough.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    Welcome. You can put those specs in your signature....go to User Control Panel, then Profile, then Edit Signature.

    While CH is not required for a vinyl liner, if it is too high and/or combined with high PH it can be a problem.

    What are you testing with? (Strips, drop kit, pool store)

    Read about recommended levels in Pool School, as your TA is on the high end, so is your PH, and if the high PH is a common occurrence you should lower the TA. There is an article on that in pool school too. You want to lower the PH with Muratic Acid when it climbs above 7.8.

    When you closed your pool was there CYA? What was the water temp, did you allow the water sample to come to room temp before testing for CYA - that is one test that is prone to inaccuracy if you test cold water. If the test is accurate, then yes, you should add CYA.

    I see Jason beat me to it!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    My Cal is 340. I'm using the PS234 Test kit. Should I use pucks or do you suggest putting in powder form in a sock next to the return. My CYA has always been between 30-40 for the last 3 years for some reason it is low this year.
    IG 32K, vinyl, 1hp Pentair, Sand Filter, Vanquish cleaning system, automatic cover.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    If you already have the pucks on hand, go ahead and use them since your PH is high anyway. But once you get to 50 on the CYA switch to chlorine. Keep an eye on the PH that it doesn't get too low while using the pucks.

    If you don't have the pucks, then no, it would be cheaper to just go buy stabilizer and use bleach for your chlorine source. If you do have to go buy stabilizer then pick up some Muratic Acid too.

    Hope this helps, let me know if you have further questions!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    My latest test:
    FC 3
    PH 7.5
    TA 160
    CA 340
    CYA 30

    I added 4 lbs stabilizer in crystal form. I put it in one of my wife's stockings in front of the skimmer. Should I bump up the CYA some more? How long will CYA usually stay in the pool?
    IG 32K, vinyl, 1hp Pentair, Sand Filter, Vanquish cleaning system, automatic cover.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    Quote Originally Posted by Waterlogged
    My latest test:
    FC 3
    PH 7.5
    TA 160
    CA 340
    CYA 30

    I added 4 lbs stabilizer in crystal form. I put it in one of my wife's stockings in front of the skimmer. Should I bump up the CYA some more? How long will CYA usually stay in the pool?
    You ideally want about 50 - because you have a sand filter, over the course of the season with backwashing you'll see that number drop.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Pool Startup no CYA

    If CA 340 means that your calcium level is 340, we normally write CH for calcium hardness, you should think about lowering your TA level. If your PH was to go up, which PH tends to do, you could potentially have calcium scaling problems. Calcium scaling can be prevented by lowering either TA or CH or by being careful to be sure that PH never goes above 7.8.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •