Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Question about installing my Autopilot

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525

    Question about installing my Autopilot

    I looked at the installation manual, but would like to get one clarification.

    It shows that the Autopilot should be connected to the pump load side. I have a two speed pump and want the Autopilot to only run when the pump is on the low speed. The only time I use high is for the spa, and 1 hour per day for the cleaner.

    So I assume that I want to hook my Autopilot to the low speed side. This also means that it will only get power when the low speed pump is on. Correct?

    thanks,
    dave
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    That depends on how your system is wired. Can you tell us how everything is setup? When using an external controller, you want the AutoPilot to be on while the pump is running and water is going to the pool. If the pump is always on high speed when water is going to the spa then your plan sounds reasonable.

    Hopefully you will have enough flow on low speed for the manifold to work correctly. It should be fine but guessing flow rates is a bit tricky.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    DaveNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    520
    My pump is wired to the Autopilot, with a timer to turn on the Autopilot. Pump program 1 runs for 1hr/high speed, fills the spa and moves allot of surface stuff to the skimmers. Then runs on low speed for 10hrs. Pump program 2 turns on for 1 hr then timer shuts everything down.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525
    Per my PB I have a 4 hour turn over when my 2hp pump is running which I figure puts me at ~64gpm. So I then figure at low speed I have 32gpm which should be enough for my SWG.

    I have a Intermatic P1353 three circuit timer that controls three dpst motor controllers for 1. high speed, 2. low speed, 3. booster pump. It is set up in mode 4, which ensures that 1 & 2 are never on at the same time, and that 3 can only turn on after 1 has been on for 30 seconds.

    When I use my spa I change the return and supply valves (manually) and turn on high speed pump. At this time I really don't want the SWG to be running. For my daily operation I have the return and supply valves set for pool only, then there is a bypass valve to provide water to the spa for the spill over and ensure the spa is always being chlorinated.

    I run the low speed 22 hours per day and the high speed/booster pump for 2 hours per day. I would like the SWG to only run while the low speed pump is running. So I was thinking I would power the AutoPilot from the load side of the low speed pump (circuit 2).

    does this make sense?

    dave
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

  5. Back To Top    #5
    DaveNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    520
    Sounds ok to me, someone else could verify. At work right now. I believe you'll have to hook up the Autopilot for 110v operation not 220v. By the way what size plunbing do you have.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525
    All pumps are 230v. Supply and return are 2", the cleaner return from the booster pump is 1.5".
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

  7. Back To Top    #7
    DaveNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    520
    My mistake yes they are 220v and the Autopilot is wired as such. So your configuration should work. The reason I asked about the pipe size is that you may be pumping a little more GPM than you think.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    That all sounds good. As long as the manifold is installed in the pool return after the valve that diverts to the spa you are all set. If the manifold is before that valve there is a risk that you will set the controls inconsistantly and the cell could come on while you were is spa mode. That wouldn't be the end of the world, but the chlorine level in the spa could get quite high before you noticed.

    The AutoPilot Digital and Total Control systems are capable of acting as a timer for the pump but given your setup you have more control if you don't use that aproach.

    The AutoPilot should always be setup for the same voltage as the pumps.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455
    LovinHDTV,

    Jason, the Lion King, once again, is correct. Now I can retire!

    With what you're describing, you can wire the Digital to the load side, to the same terminals that your low speed is wired. Then the Digital will only come on when Low speed is on.
    Do not connect the pump through the Digital, but instead, use your Intermatic time clock for a 2 speed pump.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525
    Ok so it has been a while, but here are a couple before and after pictures.

    I've had the AutoPilot for ~1 month now and love it! I had some initial problems, but they were more than likely user error as it all appears to be working great now. I'm soooo glad I did this.

    Before:
    <a></a>

    After:
    <a></a>
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37
    Looks like you are missing the power to the AutoPilot. Where's the Digital Control with the wires running to the cell and sensor.
    Priscilla
    16x32 inground vinyl, 15,000gal, sand filter

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525
    Yep the last picture was before any electrical. I have not taken a picture with the electrical hooked up.
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

  13. Back To Top    #13
    ktdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    888
    Looks like you and I have the same portable work bench!
    11,000 gal. gunite w/midnight blue and white pearl PebbleTec
    Intelliflo 4x160 pump
    Intellichlor IC-20 SWG
    Pentair cartridge filter 420 sq. ft.
    Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Legend Platinum cleaner
    Pool School
    JasonLion's Pool Calculator
    TF Test Kits

  14. Back To Top    #14
    donaldm823's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by lovingHDTV
    Ok so it has been a while, but here are a couple before and after pictures.

    I've had the AutoPilot for ~1 month now and love it! I had some initial problems, but they were more than likely user error as it all appears to be working great now. I'm soooo glad I did this.
    loving HDTV
    I also have a gas heater on the outlet side of my pump. But, my pool dealer said I could not use a SWG as the high chlorine level may migrate "back" to the heater core and cause the heater tubes to corrode. How did you isolate the SWG from the heater to ensure no backflow when the pump is off? Your pictures seem to show no dip loop or check valve present-or maybe I just can not discern what I am looking at in the pictures. I myself am tired of the daily chlorox adds and want to hook upo a SWG
    Don SW Florida
    10,000 gal in ground concrete pool
    Pentair Cartridge filter, Pentair SWG, Pentair Intelliflow VS pump (11018)
    FAFCO solar panels w/Pentair SolarTouch controller
    using BBB for pool chemistry/Lamotte ColorQ tester for daily testing

  15. Back To Top    #15
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    You can add a check valve between the heater and the SWG to prevent chlorine from migrating backwards but it isn't usually needed.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455
    Remember too that the AutoPilot manifold acts as a "Hartford Loop" to prevent any backflow of chemicals back to the heater. Also, with a SCG, the production of chlorine stops when the flow stops, with a little residual discharge of the cell producing a little bit of chlorine. However, since chlorine is heavier than water, the tendency is for the chlorine to flow towards the pool, rather than up over the manifold loop, and back to the heater.

    I wouldn't worry about adding the check valve.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    525
    Quote Originally Posted by Poolsean
    Remember too that the AutoPilot manifold acts as a "Hartford Loop" to prevent any backflow of chemicals back to the heater. Also, with a SCG, the production of chlorine stops when the flow stops, with a little residual discharge of the cell producing a little bit of chlorine. However, since chlorine is heavier than water, the tendency is for the chlorine to flow towards the pool, rather than up over the manifold loop, and back to the heater.

    I wouldn't worry about adding the check valve.
    Umm . . . what he said . . . yeah . . .

    Honestly, I asked this question before installing it and above is the answer Sean gave me before. At least he is consistant

    You can see the back flow preventing valve between my tablet dispenser and the heater as the PB put it in. I had to remove it to fit the SWG in there, but Sean had told me that it would be ok to do so.
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •