Santee, CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I just completed one year with my pool and I am still learning. I seem to get cloudy water more often than what I feel I should be getting. I maintain my FC at proper levels for my CYA. Typically I kept my CYA around 70 - 80 shooting for a FC between 6 - 9. I have found once my FC drops close to 10 after a SLAM I start getting cloudy water so I began just keeping my FC around 12 or higher, but none of that seems like it should be that way.

Things were fine all winter with the cooler temps and we started swimming again on Easter Sunday. I noticed the water starting to cloud up as the temps warmed up so I decided to do an extended SLAM. My CYA is just under 40 on the test so I just use 40 as my value for SLAM FC level purposes. I've kept my FC 17 - 20 for 2 weeks now, brushing my pool most days. Cleaned my DE filter, fresh powder. Pool is clear, I have the suction covers and lights out, brushed out the autofill and skimmer. I have not done an OCLT yet because I still notice a white haze come from the plaster when I give it a brush. It has always done this and I just thought it was normal, but since I keep having cloudy water issues rather frequently I am now suspecting I have to SLAM till this goes away. Will this ever stop or should I not concern myself with this and move on? I tried to upload a video but I can't get the file size small enough so I put it on YouTube. The pic is my pool at this moment. Crystal clear except that white haze brushing from the wall.

Pool haze 1

Pool haze 2

Attachments

• PXL_20230514_200122091-01.jpeg
    PXL_20230514_200122091-01.jpeg
    609.5 KB · Views: 56
It sure sounds like you are doing and have done everything I was thinking of telling you to do-cleaning lights and such.

I do have to ask this, does it "dust up" if you use a different brush? I am grasping at straws but............you never know when one of my wild ideas help.