jtucker615

Jul 18, 2023
Winfield, AL
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I'm brand new to pools. Just bought my house in Feb. I had a pool guy, but he was inexperienced and never showed up so I fired him. I was recently told I made a very bad mistake and need confirmation. My pool is in ground, 20x40 3ft to 8ft. Estimated 33000 gallons. I had the pump, liner, and sand filter all replaced. Since owning the pool I've added 9lbs of dry stabilizer and used trichlor tablets in my skimmer. I was told I needed to shock it after rain and heavy use so I add a couple scoops of shock which is calcium hypochlorite. I also just bought 35 lbs of cal-hypo tablets to use in my inline feeder since my stabilizer is at 35 and I don't want it to increase Someone just told me a screwed up big time because I'm not supposed to mix chlorine types... am I in trouble here? Please advise

Someone just told me a screwed up big time because I'm not supposed to mix chlorine types..
If mixed in the same container, yes, that is an extremely dangerous situation. Cal-hypo and tri-chlor cannot be mixed. Are they mixed in the same inline feeder? If so, it could explode. If the trichlor tabs are in the skimmer (that's never recommended) and the cal-hypo somewhere else, it's not an emergency.

Please clarify and let us know so we can assist.

Also see -----> Pool Care Basics