Pipe size

btmansfi

May 5, 2015
Chesapeake, VA
Good afternoon. I have roughly 10 years of experience owning pools, having purchased a home that already had a pool to having one built. We just sold our home and purchased another home that has a pool. It's a large Grecian true L but needs a ton of work. Liner is shot and all equipment is trash. Also, there's only the standard 3' concrete deck.

We definitely have our hands full. I've replaced pumps, filters, and salt cells and I have an account with a local pool distributor so I am going to handle that. Going to pay someone to do the liner. I'm trying to map out chronologically how this all play out and one "issue" that I thought of is pipe size.

Pretty sure the existing pipe is 1 1/2". It's a roughly 40k gallon pool and I was planning to go with the Hayward Tristar VS 950 2.7 hp pump. We'll also have 4-6 deck jets and down the road, a spillover spa and water feature. With all of those things I would imagine the 1 1/2" pipe is going to be a limited factor in supplying the volume of water needed for all of those accessories. Being that we're going to be tearing the concrete out, we could possibly excavate enough to get to the pipe and replace it. Just not sure if the cost is worth it or not.

Is leaving the existing 1 1/2" pipe there going to make going with this pump a bad idea? Would a smaller pump be a better option for us?

Good afternoon. I have roughly 10 years of experience owning pools, having purchased a home that already had a pool to having one built. We just sold our home and purchased another home that has a pool. It's a large Grecian true L but needs a ton of work. Liner is shot and all equipment is trash. Also, there's only the standard 3' concrete deck.