May 17, 2023
New York
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi All!

My fiance and I just bought our first house at the end of last year, and it has a pool that I'm now working on opening. I've never worked on pools before, but I've been learning a lot online (mostly from this awesome website), and learning a lot from my experiences so far. The pool hasn't been opened in 5 years the previous owner told us, but last time it was closed it was "professionally closed/winterized", and its been sitting with the winter cover strapped tightly on it and full of water ever since.

About the pool:
I don't know the gallonage for sure, and I can't see much in the pool, but based on reading online and ye olde measuring tape, I'm estimating 27,000 to 30,000 US gallons, probably 28,000. It's an in-ground chlorine gunite pool.
There is no heater but there are lines and a gas line where one used to be.
The pump and filter are inside a semi-heated garage, which relative to the pool is underground (the garage is attached to the basement of the house and opens out the side of a hill).
The pump is a Leslie's Hydramax II Self-Priming, with what appears to be a MagneTek Century Centurion motor, hardwired 240V on a 20A breaker. The filter is a Pentair Sand Dollar SD-70 with an MPV.
The pool was, expectedly, very green when we first opened it this past Sunday.
We had it inspected when we bought the house - they found no leaks, and the pump works but has bad bearings.
We bought an Aiper Seagull Pro to help us with the job and to help us maintain the pool.
For chlorine testing I bought a Taylor FAS-DPD test kit, and for the time being I just bought some multi-purpose strips to test everything else just until I get things a little bit more "managed".
I also bought a phosphate test kit - I plan on ignoring phosphates as this website suggests, but was curious just to see what they were initially and during/after cleanup.