High ph and low alakalinity

doctorfaraz

Apr 26, 2020
Houston
Hi experts,
I have been using liquid chlorine in my pool for several months in order to keep CYA under 80 and I have been successful. Chemistry remains ok except my pH and Alkalinity which are always in opposite direction no matter what I do. My pool ph remains high and alkalinity remains low. I add baking soda and alkalinity becomes around 100-120 but ph becomes around 8.3 then I add acid to correct the ph but alkalinity gets around 50-60 once ph is within range. Have tried reverse as well, that is creating low ph and then adding baking soda to correct both ph and alkalinity but nothing is working for few months. I have 3 water falls that I use once a month and pump filters remain open around 8 hours a day. This is 14000 galloon pool in Houston, Texas. Any suggestion that can be easily done here? Thank you.

Hi experts,
I have been using liquid chlorine in my pool for several months in order to keep CYA under 80 and I have been successful. Chemistry remains ok except my pH and Alkalinity which are always in opposite direction no matter what I do. My pool ph remains high and alkalinity remains low. I add baking soda and alkalinity becomes around 100-120 but ph becomes around 8.3 then I add acid to correct the ph but alkalinity gets around 50-60 once ph is within range. Have tried reverse as well, that is creating low ph and then adding baking soda to correct both ph and alkalinity but nothing is working for few months. I have 3 water falls that I use once a month and pump filters remain open around 8 hours a day. This is 14000 galloon pool in Houston, Texas. Any suggestion that can be easily done here? Thank you.
That’s the way TA and pH work. A TA of 50-60 is great (when using liquid chlorine) and will help slow the pH rise. Adding baking soda to increase the TA to 120 makes the pH rise too fast. Don’t do that anymore. 😉 Any pH that starts with a 7 is perfect, including 7.2 or 7.9.