Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-20
Hi! I'm new to this and its scary!! :)

I am building a pool with a large 18 foot "wall of water"/waterfall wall. We plan to cover it in glass tile; the same tile as we will use for the waterline.

I'm veering away from a bright white grout. Do you have an opinion on a grout color and thinset for the glass tile? I am thinking a white thinset, as I've heard that makes glass tile look better. Our PB is suggesting Lowes or Home Depot for the grout. He wants to do a sanded grout. Seems like sanded is okay?

I've attached photos of the tile and waterfall wall (link to tile here: FJ-1298 - Silent 1X2)

I've heard @kimkats is great at this!!

Thank you so much for your help!

1646179998621.png

1646180139893.png

Here is the recommended buildup by a glass tile supplier.

1626430671428-png.355575

A waterproof coating like Basecrete should be used. Otherwise you can end up with problems like this...

Here is the recommended buildup by a glass tile supplier.

1626430671428-png.355575

A waterproof coating like Basecrete should be used. Otherwise you can end up with problems like this...

I appreciate your help. Yeah, I know my guy isn't doing all these steps. He has a concrete tank, some other concrete over that(waterproofing?), thinset, tile and then grout. I can't convince him otherwise.

I can't convince him otherwise.
Your money, your pool=your way! You might have to go toe to toe with him but push on this one. Not fun but needs to happen as YOU are the one that has to live with what HE does...............just saying.

First off I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your tile!!!! It is one of my favs of all times!!!

I say a white mortar with a medium gray grout. The medium gray will help the tiles blend together better instead of making each tile stand out like the light or white would.

You can also get some grout sticks to play with to see what it will look like in real life.

Kim :kim: