First time pool owner - So excited but a little overwhelmed!

Feb 24, 2024
Henderson Nevada (Las Vegas)
Pool Size
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi Guys!!!

My first ever post here after spending hours and hours going in circles on here, you tube, at Leslies (eek!) etc etc. I'm so sorry if the below information is a lot and mods please tell me if I need to split this up?

Here is my new situation. Just bought my first house with a pool, so I have very little experience and am working my way slowly along the steep, intimidating learning curve, but I am so so very excited to be a pool owner (I'm English, so its even more of a big deal bucket list thing!!) I’m in Henderson Nevada (Las Vegas). Its an In- ground pretty small pool, I think about 6500 gallons from a rough measure size and depths not sure as its not a regular shape. House was built in year 2000 but not sure if pool same time. I do almost all DIY house projects both here in UK, Im pretty handy and have been building houses since age 19 years and totally happy with UK/USA electrics soldering plumbing, bonding waste pipe etc so am wanting to tackle everything myself if possible on the pool and keen to learn new skills.

My Equipment list:-

Pentair CCP320 filter with Unicel 7470 cartridges, both housing and cartridges, looks old and makes me itch!

Pool is century pump model CET38ABM/K48AA27A79, SERIAL 29819J2 2.20HP, 9.7AMP,3450RPM motor with waterway pump - pump was new in AUGUST 2021

Single skimmer with basket and flap and two threaded holes in bottom (only one seems to have suction?)

Auto-filler in a skimmer type housing - toilet type gray and black showing “Fluidmaster” logo but unsure yet if it’s a H Depot toilet one or Pentair one and again unsure of age (think its a toilet one as has the black overflow tube).

Plumbing from end of pump goes to T valve - one side goes to another t valve with option of “skimmer/cleaner” (currently set to skimmer) other side shows “main drain”