Silver Supporter
May 3, 2023
South Louisiana
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi guys, I am new to all of this and a new pool owner. we got this pool so my mom can get in and do some basic water exercise to help maintain her balance and continue to live alone ( she’s 80 yrs old). My pool is 18x48 intex prism pool above ground and I have had problems since day 1 which is now 3 weeks. When we first put the water in the next day i immediately notice algae problem I believe this was due to the pool being stored in her barn in the box for a year and we live in south Louisiana with 100% humidity and hot. So I shocked the pool still algae we then doubled shocked the pool I also took all the hoses from the pump and soaked them in bleach have scrubbed walls and floors and vacuumed everyday. My next issues was very high ph and alkaline levels along with very high total chlorine and free chlorine my only low level was the stabilizer. I have since gotten my PH and Alkaline levels within normal range but chlorine levels are still high stabilizer still low. My water has been cloudy since day one. The pump and filter that came with the pool is a joke I believe I need to upgrade to a better one I just don’t know what I need to upgrade to as I don’t want to get one that’s to powerful and won’t do the job but this one just isn’t working and I have been running the pump 24 hrs a day since put up. I have even let about a third of water out and added fresh water both chlorine levels are still high and water still cloudy. Being new to this pool owner stuff I am clueless in just about all areas. As for vacuuming pool this pool did not come with any type of vacuum system so I had to get a hand held rechargeable one which only puts stuff back into water ( I‘m thinking I am putting dead algae back into water this is frustrating. Would like a pump system I can attach a vacuum to any suggestions on this is needed also. So here I am basically with a pool that I am having to lear