First time opening my Intex above ground pool, need some help…

MadameMagenta

Jul 5, 2022
Missouri
This is my first time opening a pool and I really don’t know the standards for opening a pool. I know people say to get an opening kit, but I didn’t know if that was completely necessary or if I just needed to shock the pool. I closed it using the In The Swim closing kit. I live in Missouri, but I decided to keep the water in the pool with a heavy cover because I have a well and it took like two weeks to fill up.

I removed the cover Friday and got the pump and skimmer hooked back up. The water looked pretty good, just a few leaves in the bottom from when the wind blew the corner of the cover off. I added some chlorine tablets to my bobber and have been running my pump and pool cleaner off and on since Friday.

Now my question, do I really have to have everything that comes in the opening kit, or do I just need to shock? Or do I even have to do that? I’m a complete newb to all of this, any help is appreciated.

To determine what your pool needs, you’ll need to know what it currently has.

How do you test your water, and what are your current levels?

FC-
CC-
pH-
TA-
CH-
CYA-

To determine what your pool needs, you’ll need to know what it currently has.

How do you test your water, and what are your current levels?

FC-
CC-
pH-
TA-
CH-
CYA-
I’m actually shopping for a test kit today. I used the strips last year and they never worked consistently for me. I’m looking at kits online and found Taylor on Amazon, is that a decent test kit or do you have any recommendations?

I’m actually shopping for a test kit today. I used the strips last year and they never worked consistently for me. I’m looking at kits online and found Taylor on Amazon, is that a decent test kit or do you have any recommendations?