Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Rain...

1. Back To Top    #1

Rain...

Does rain water have a lot of affect on the PH or chlorine levels? Also, how often should i backwash my pool water? Sorry if these are dumb questions, complete newbie here. :/
    10.4K gallon 21' round Elixir AG
    Hayward 150lb Sand Filter/1.5 Hayward Pump/Hayward Diver Dave cleaner
    Pool installed 7/11/14. TF-100 Test Kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Rain...

Rain doesn't usually have much effect. In a few rare cases rain can change the PH a bit, but that is not common. Extreme amounts of rain that cause the pool to overflow will lower some levels, most importantly salt and CYA, but again that is fairly uncommon.

You should backwash each time the filter pressure goes up %25 from the clean filter pressure.

There are no such thing as dumb questions. We all needed to learn these things at some point.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by IamWebb223 View Post
    Does rain water have a lot of affect on the PH or chlorine levels? Also, how often should i backwash my pool water? Sorry if these are dumb questions, complete newbie here. :/
    Rain has minimal effect, unless its a monsoon that replaces huge amounts of your pool water. The main reason chlorine is reported to go down in the rain is that folks don;t like to get wet and test/add chlorine when it is raining.