Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: Do I need to shock

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Do I need to shock

    Just did my latest pool readings..

    FC 3.0
    CC 1.5
    PH 7.4
    TA 100
    CH 250
    CYA 50
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Sorry CYA is 50...
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    9,004

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Yep. CC should be .5 or less.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Do I need to shock

    If I shock tonight will I be able to swim tomorrow?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Do I need to shock

    I have no algae...
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Do I need to shock

    CC at 1.5 might go away in a few hours, or it might take another day or two, it is unpredictable. The sooner you start, the sooner you will be rid of it
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Quote Originally Posted by precator
    I have no algae...
    ...that you can see! Either you have a bottom full of leaves or you have some algae hiding somewhere!
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Do I need to shock

    With cya at 50 my shock level is 20 correct?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Do I need to shock

    16 according to poolcalculator.com but I usually aim for a couple of points over recommended at first and then try to hold shock level afterward.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Do I need to shock

    So now I wait an hour, test, and if say my FC is at 12 and my CC is still over .5, I would calculate how much Chlorine I would need to get to 16 FC correct? And repeat this every hour if possible?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Also, can I vacuum while at shock levels?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Do I need to shock

    now I am seeing a bunch of white stuff floating on the top of the pool after shocking.. Anyone know what this is?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    9,004

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Quite possibly dead algae.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: Do I need to shock

    looks like it is slowly clearing up. Will my filter eventually get all this dead algae if thats what it is? I have a DE filter..
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  15. Back To Top    #15
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Yes it will You'll need to turn the water over a few times, but DE is really shines when it comes to clearing up algae.
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: Do I need to shock

    So by morning it should be gone correct.. Also does this mean I am done shocking since algae is dying?
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    9,004

    Re: Do I need to shock

    See pool school for the criteria for being through shocking.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    lebanon tn
    Posts
    370

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Yes you can vacuum while at shock levels... and swim, as long as you're not excessively high above the shock values!
    24ft x 52in AGP 18000 gal
    sand filter, 200#,1.5 hp single speed pump
    Wood deck (still in progress...)

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Re: Do I need to shock

    This is the picture of the white stuff. I still have CC of about 1.5 now.. I just re-shocked with 7 jugs of bleach to be at the 20 shock level..
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Re: Do I need to shock

    Closer pic of buildup on sides of pool..
    25k Gallon Gunite Inground Pool
    Pentair FNS PLUS DE filter
    Pentair WhisperFlo WF-24 (seems like single speed)
    Chlorine
    Bel Air, MD 21015

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •