Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: help-want to switch from Bromine Pool to Chlorine

1. Back To Top    #1

help-want to switch from Bromine Pool to Chlorine

I've been using Bromine for the past 3 years 18 foot above ground pool, and would like to use chlorine because cost of bromine is ridiculous any help would be great, I've heard its not easily done

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: help

Welcome to TFP!

To switch to chlorine you need to get rid of the bromine. It takes many months at best, sometimes years, for bromine to break down, so the only way to convert to chlorine is to do a total water replacement. It is usually all right to drain an above ground pool, though you do need to be careful that nothing shifts or falls down while the pool is empty.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

When draining, keep a few inches of water so the liner stays put.

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

4. Back To Top    #4

thank you

5. Back To Top    #5

Jason-Will R/O remove Bromine? I have no experience with Bromine, and don't know that I have ever heard of anyone using it around here, but I gotta think it will come up one day!

6. Back To Top    #6

Quote Originally Posted by simicrintz
    Will R/O remove Bromine? !
    Google is your friend
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

7. Back To Top    #7

Quote Originally Posted by bk406
    Google is your friend
    Not so sure I always trust Google........