Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Replacing water

1. Back To Top    #1

Replacing water

May be a stupid question, but can I use the pool's pump to drain the water? My CYA levels are 100 and pool math suggested a 60% replacement. I'm a new pool owner and I've never done this before.
    Thanks
    16x32 (22K gal)/ IG/ vinyl liner/Hayword Proseries Sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Replacing water

The answer is that it depends.

If you have main drains, and your plumbing supports only pulling from the drain, it is certainly possible to drain this way. Some people's main drains route through their skimmer, in which case you'd need a diverter plate in the skimmer so the pump didn't suck air. Others have no main drains at all, and either need to find a way to route a pipe from the bottom of the pool into the skimmer's intake pipe, or they rent/buy a submersible pump and do it that way.

You'll also want to check your local laws/codes on where you may send drained pooled water. Many cities/counties have rules as to how, when, and where you can drain pools.
    8,500gal plaster in-ground with attached spa, two floor drains, one skimmer. Chlorine, City Water.
    Pentair WhisperFlo 1hp Pump, MagnaTek Midcentury EPlus motor, Pentair CleanNClear 200SF Cartridge filter, Purex Triton MiniMax 250 Gas Heater, Pentair SunLite, AutoFill.
    Kreepy Krauly Cruiser, TF-100 with SpeedStir. :D

3. Back To Top    #3

If you have a main drain and can turn off your skimmer(s), yes. If no main drain, then no because it will stop when you get to the bottom of the skimmer.

Have you tried testing a diluted sample to see if you are actually over 100?
    Pool School - CYA
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

4. Back To Top    #4