10' Intex pool with algae

NAUgrad2005

Aug 12, 2019
Boise, ID
Hello! I have a 10' Easy Set Intex pool that I'm battling algae with. I've tried shocking it with vinyl pool shock, replacing the filter cartridge, using a pool brush to sweep it toward the filter intake...nothing has worked. The worst part: I haven't even had a chance to use it yet since I'm having so many water issues! I can't remember what my last test strip readings were, but I can check it again tonight and post those. It's been fairly warm in Idaho in the last few weeks, but I haven't had issues like this in the past 2 years that I had a pool. Any advice is appreciated as I'm still pretty new at all this! I typically use 1-2 of the 1" chlorine tabs in a floater and supplement with baking soda. I don't know if I'm better off just draining it and starting over?

The first step is to get a proper FAS-DPD test kit — test strips are awful. The two most popular test kits on Trouble Free Pool are the TF-100 and the Taylor K2006C.

You don't need pool shock or chlorine tabs, all you need to clean your pool is liquid bleach. You could drain your pool and start all over, but it's a short-term solution that will likely come back until you learn proper pool chemistry.

Welcome to TFP!

TFP is all about you learning how to take care of your pool the easy way. Shocking is not a one time application of shock product, it is a process. You will need a good test kit to successfully perform it. See Test Kits Compared.

I suggest that you read some articles in Pool School.

ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
SLAM Process

A couple videos will also help you understand.

Note, the CYA video has important information. Since you've been using the trichlor tablets which add CYA, you need to know that information. Some CYA is good, too much can make it next to impossible to chlorinate because you need so much more chlorine than if it was lower.