Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pentair MasterTemp 400 cycles on and off in Spa mode

1. Back To Top    #1

Pentair MasterTemp 400 cycles on and off in Spa mode

Hey all,
    I have a Pentair MasterTemp 400, which is about 2 years old. Recently it started cycling off and on while attempting to heat my spa. It cycles every 2-3 minutes and runs for a minute or two at a time. I did run it for about 10 minutes while circulating my pool as well, and didn't detect it cycling at all, which makes me think it may be pressure related, but I'm not sure that to look at next.

Cleaned my filter cartridge today, which helped flow, however it didn't fix the problem.

Any suggestions???

thanks!
    Darren
    ~20K gallon freeform w/attached spa
    Pentair 4x160 pump
    Pentair Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Intellitouch i7+3 controller
    Intellichlor IC40

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pentair MasterTemp 400 cycles on and off in Spa mode

Found the manual for the heater, and tried adjusting the water pressure switch - no joy. Seems like the water pressure switch might need replacing. Next dry day I'll pull things further apart and jump across the WPS to see if it'll run for more than a few minutes. Anyone know if replacing that doohickey is expensive or a possible DIY item for a competent DIYer?

thx
    Darren
    Pentair 4x160 pump
    Intellichlor IC40

3. Back To Top    #3

Does your service light come on? If so, you'll need to take a look at the backside of your control and see which LED is lit. That will give us more of an idea.

4. Back To Top    #4

Ah-HAH! Took a look at the backside of the board, and the HLS light comes on. Also found out this doesn't start until the inlet temp gets up to ~69-70*, which explains why it didn't happen when I was running it on the whole pool (pool is about 54* right now).