Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Closed pool but .....

1. Back To Top    #1

Closed pool but .....

Hello
    I had a company come in and close my built in pool here in NY. He said it wasn't necessary to rinse out my Hayward filter as he did a very good back wash. He said Hayward recommends it being opened and cleaned once every 5 years. This sound right to you? Also my salt in line control unit is still hooked up and I thought that should of been taken in. Any thoughts? Would you like me to post a picture or two? Let me know
    Also my water level was not dropped, it still goes into the skimmers which have been plugged and have those gizzo's in them

This is my first year with the pool and would like to do things the right way.

Thanks
    Tom

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Closed pool but .....

What kind of filter do you have? If it is a sand filter then he is right, just backwash. If it is a cartridge then the cartridges should be removed and washed off throughly. If it is a DE filter opening and cleaning is also recommended.

There are many ways to close a pool. The technique you describe is reasonable as long as it is done correctly, and your aren't too far north.

Using a font that large is considered shouting. It is best not to shout.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks very much for the reply. I do have a DE filter. I will try to remove the salt "tube" because I really don't want it out all winter.
    Thanks again
    Tom

4. Back To Top    #4

Hi, Tom,