Extremely Rough Plaster - First Opening

Apr 22, 2015
Owings, MD
Hi, I am new to TFP and I am hoping to get some feedback. We had a pool built last spring. It is 18x36, 18,000 gallons, shotcrete pool with plaster. We've had quite a few issues with the pool so far. Pretty much immediately after the pool was filled, the plaster began to yellow in various spots throughout the pool. The pool builder indicated it was a result of us not maintaining the water chemistry properly. But, we also have documentation from the pool builder indicating that they had not put in any type of sequestering agent or metal remover upon the initial fill of the pool (our contract called for the builder to be responsible for the entire startup, including chemicals), and we believe that may have had an impact on the yellow/orange stains. In the end the pool builder told us the only way to remove the yellow/orange stains was to drain the pool and do an acid wash. After arguing with them, they finally agreed to perform the acid wash free of charge, but required us to pay for the water to be refilled. They did the acid wash in October, immediately refilled the pool, and closed the pool for the winter about 10 days later. They told us that the water chemistry was good when they closed the pool, although there was a note that the stabilizer was low. This is what their records show for the water chemistry at the time they closed it:

Free Chlorine: 3.6 ppm
Total Chlorine: 3.6 ppm
Combined Chlorine: 0.0ppm
pH: 7.4
Hardness: 240ppm
Alkalinity: 117ppm
Cyanuric Acid: 10ppm
Copper: 0.07ppm
Iron: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 9 ppm