Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First test with TF-100

1. Back To Top    #1

First test with TF-100

Well, I took my first tests with my new TF -100 today. Today was also the day that the setup guy came out. I filled the pool Friday night, and started treating Saturday night, using what I learned here with the basic test kit that came with the pool. So I have had it up and running for 4 days counting today, and the setup guy was curious about what I was using. I had told him over the phone that when he fixed the plumbing leaks, that I wanted the Frog taken out. His manager absolutely refused to allow him to do that. When he told her that I was treating it myself, she replied sarcastically, "Probably bleach!". This made him very curious, so he asked me about what I was doing. I referred him to this site, and tried to explain to him as well as I could about the BBB method, reminding him that I was a newbie. He said in the 3 years that he has done this work, NO ONE has told him that they had a plan beforehand on how to maintain their pool. He left the BacPac, but said he would not even bother putting it in. My results were as follows:

FC - 6
    TC - 6
    CC - 0
    ph - 7.2
    TA - 50
    CH - did not test
    CYA - did not test (added 3 lbs yesterday per the pool calculator)
    30' round AGP, 21,240 gallons
    Sta-Rite 1.5 hp pump, sand filter with Zeobrite
    Aquabot Pool Rover Jr.; Polaris 65
    BBB

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First test with TF-100

You should bring your TA up to between 70 and 90 with baking soda. That will also raise the PH a little, which will be good.

You should test your CH level every once in a long while. Low CH isn't an issue, but high CH levels could cause problems.

Many builders get paid to put the Frog in. I suspect that is why they don't want to take it out.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot