Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Deep End light repair - help!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northeastern Ohio
    Posts
    178

    Deep End light repair - help!

    As I enter into my 2nd year of (new-to-me) pool ownership, both my wife and I thought it would be nice to have our deep end light working this year. I have no idea when this light was last replaced, but I've read up on the forum about doing this and it seemed straight forward enough, so I thought I'd give it a try.

    I'll try to keep this as brief as possible.

    With a bit of a struggle, I was able to get my light housing out of my pool. Unfortunately, the original installer didn't install enough wire to lift the housing completely out of the water and onto to the pool deck (which I understand to be the norm). Also, the screw that holds the housing to the pool wall seems to have rusted completely away (the housing was siloconed in place). Attached is a pic of the light housing.

    My questions:

    1) Is it possible to lenghten the wire that goes to the housing? If so, what kind of wire should I use and how do I ensure it is waterproofed at the point where I splice in the "extension" wire?

    2) With the shape my light housing is in, is it possible/likely I could find a replacement housing, and if so, where might I find it?

    3) This light looks like is uses one of the old style round car headlights, except that it had 3 places to attach wires to the back of it that were held in place with small screws. Is this normal?

    Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated. I had to lower my water level to below the light to get this thing out and having the water that low is making me incredibly nervous. I'd like to get this fixed and the pool refilled ASAP.

    Thanks,

    Ron
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ~30000 GAL In-Ground 26'x50' Kidney Shaped Pool
    Hayward EC-75 DE Filter w/1.5HP Hayward SuperPump
    daily user of JasonLion's Poolcalculator
    (12) 2x10 SunGrabber Solar Panels...now if only there was some sun to shine on them!

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry
    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    28,401
    Ron,

    Your repair is beyond my experience level. I can only help by saying the splice won't work. The wire must be continuous from the light back up to the junction box so you'll have to pull new wire (I'm almost sure). Sorry I can't offer more info.
    Dave S. - Forum owner
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    The wire has to be a single continuous run from the light to the junction box above water level. If you are lucky you can use the existing wire to pull a new wire through the conduit.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northeastern Ohio
    Posts
    178
    ack. that's what I was afraid of. Considering the age of my pool (built in 1969), I'm almost certain they just buried the wire instead of using conduit.

    I suppose my options at this point are try to dig up the wire (20-30 feet at most) and replace the whole run, or unhook the wire from it's power source (that should be safe, right)?

    On a separate note, is low water level a concern with a plaster pool like it is with a vinyl liner?
    ~30000 GAL In-Ground 26'x50' Kidney Shaped Pool
    Hayward EC-75 DE Filter w/1.5HP Hayward SuperPump
    daily user of JasonLion's Poolcalculator
    (12) 2x10 SunGrabber Solar Panels...now if only there was some sun to shine on them!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    Yes, a concrete/plaster pool can float if you have a high water table just as other types can. The chances of it floating are a little lower, but the damage that can occur would be much more expensive to fix.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northeastern Ohio
    Posts
    178
    Thanks Jason.

    I put a voltmeter on the wires for my light and it doesn't have any voltage on it at all, regardless of if the switch is on or not. I think I'm just going to put this thing back together and revisit the issue when I get a replaster next year.

    Thanks for all the help.
    ~30000 GAL In-Ground 26'x50' Kidney Shaped Pool
    Hayward EC-75 DE Filter w/1.5HP Hayward SuperPump
    daily user of JasonLion's Poolcalculator
    (12) 2x10 SunGrabber Solar Panels...now if only there was some sun to shine on them!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    326
    A possible solution to get you through this summer... I have a halogen floodlight that is pointed towards the pool. The pool lights up pretty well when that floodlight is on. Perhaps you can set up a temporary floodlight until you can repair the pool light? It doesn't quite have the same ambiance, but at least swimmers can see each other. A dimmer and a colored bulb might help with the ambiance part.
    26,000 Gallon Gunnite IGP
    2 HP Challenger High Head Pump
    60sf Nautilus DE filter
    Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •