Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pool Paint Dilemma

1. Back To Top    #1

Pool Paint Dilemma

My husband and I are going round and round over the choice of color for the resurface of our old concrete pool. I am really wanting Olympic brand's White, he thinks that it should be the Blue Mist. Since Olympic does not include any photos of their paints with water in the pools, has anyone resurfaced their pool with/without a color and has before/ after photos? I really want to avoid a "greenish" cast to the water. Our pool is practically white at this point anyway due to the fading of the paint, and I think that it looks very good that way, however, he insists that a light blue is what is needed and customary.

Any comments, photos, suggestions, product thoughts, would really be appreciated.

We are looking at products by Olympic and Ramuc because we get a discount from a major pool supply place here in NJ, because he is a contractor by trade. Thanks.
    1960s Original Sylvan Pool
    Concrete
    @ 30,000 Gallons
    Hayward DE Filter
    2 HP Hayward Pump
    BBB believer!

2. Back To Top    #2

Replying to my own post

Ok, no responses. Is no one painting their pools nowdays? Am I in the stone age? Will the Flinstones be coming over for a Bar-B-Q? My old pool is originally painted, and while I would love to do a complete upgrade with plaster, lights, slate, yada, yada, yada, the economy for me makes it such that, that is not going to happen this year or next. Does anyone have any thoughts on this topic? please... help...me...I need to make a case to the hubs that the pool should be painted white, NOT blue! I need expert opinions here!
    Concrete
    @ 30,000 Gallons
    Hayward DE Filter
    2 HP Hayward Pump
    BBB believer!

3. Back To Top    #3