Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Bulkhead Fittiong Leak in Progrid

1. Back To Top    #1

Bulkhead Fittiong Leak in Progrid

I am scratching my head on this one. I had a small leak from the bulkhead fitting - not the variflo valve, but from the fitting the valve attaches to. I tried to tighten the bulkhead fitting some more, but the leak increased. I took the fitting out and the o-ring looks brand new. Reinstalled and it still leaked, even more. I backed it off and the leak went away, but when I turned my filter off, there was an air leak at the fitting, which sends my DE back into my pool. So if I tighten it, water streams out, if I loosen it, the leak stops, but air streams in when my filter shuts off.

I am thinking that maybe something wedged the outlet elbow, which the fitting screws into, just a little bit - a clump of dirty DE or something? I am not an expert, but the behaviour seems weird and I can't use my timer as when the filter shuts off, all my DE will flow back into the pool. Its going to be cold and rainy tomorrow and I am going away Thursday, for a couple of days, but any help on what may be the problem is appreciated. Thanks.
    19,000 vinyl pool, solar heat, .75 hp tristar, 48 sq ft de filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Bulkhead Fittiong Leak in Progrid

Chris, if you have the time and inclination, I can tell you how to make a temp fix, and perhaps get to the bottom of this without having to open the filter.

The problem may be with the lower bulkhead o-ring

It's getting late tonight, so I'll leave you to your experiments for now - but I'll come back and 'fill in' this response
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)