Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Baquacil conversion with monopersulfate

1. Back To Top    #1

Baquacil conversion with monopersulfate

First off, I'm new to pools and can use all the "non-biased" help I can get.
    I have been on BaquaGoo for three years and after last year am completely fed up! I have a 22500 gal Vinyl pool and am converting to a Hayward Swimpure SWG. Along with this system I was sold on using a 40lb bucket of MPS (monopersulfate) to get rid of the Baguinides.
    Yesterday I opened the pool and have been circulating through a sand filter for 24 hrs and will be taking in a water sample for testing since I do not have my test kit yet. The salesman that sold me the MPS said to just throw in 20 lbs wait a day and throw in the other 20lbs and that should take care of the Baquacil. I'm not so sure after reading within TFP that this is correct. My receipt says that all chemical sales are final, so I may be stuck with the MPS.

My questions are;
    Using the pool calculator, what is the equivalent to MPS?
    Does MSP leave residual chemicals that could be harmful to my SWG cell?
    If I can exchange the MPS, what would be another chemical that I would use in the future with a SWG?

Thanks for all of your help!

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Baquacil conversion with monopersulfate

Welcome to the forum!

Using liquid chlorine will be far less expensive than MPS. If it's returnable or exchangeable, I would do so and get liquid chlorine (or bleach) instead. If it's not returnable, You will be able to use it initially and then switch to bleach/liquid chlorine with no problem so you are not stuck with it.

The conversion is a process that may take more effort than the salesman is telling you (sounds like he has never done one). You will be able to search here for baquacil conversions and will find success stories that will give you an idea of the4 process involved.