Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: water level for closing

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    water level for closing

    My pool was closed last week. The pool company always used to lower the water level. They notified us after it was closed up that they no longer do the lowering so it was closed at the normal water level. We have had over 4 inches of rain since so the cover is heavy with rain water and leaves. We are trying today to lower the level but the heavy cover is displacing so much of the water we seem to be getting now where. Does it really have to be lowered below the skimmer? I ask because over the course of winter the cover will be even heavier with rain and snow and displacing even more water-probably over the bottom of the skimmer. We don't have skimmer plate covers and they use the gizmo to plug the skimmer and I do not believe they use antifreeze. Should I get skimmer plates and put those on and just leave the water where it is? I am afriad of draining too much water since I really can't tell the actual level.
    I hope this isn't too confusing!
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: water level for closing

    in WNY, to be safe, I would lower you water 6" below your return/skimmer. You can simply put a hose into the pool thru the skimmer opening and siphon the water out. Also, investing in a $30-40 pool cover pump may be a good idea to reduce the amount of water on your cover before it freezes (you can siphon as well...the pump just speeds it up)

    Good luck
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    1,966

    Re: water level for closing

    The idea is to keep ice from cracking either the skimmer itself or any of the piping. Lowering the water level is a way to keep ice out of the skimmer.
    --paulr
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

  4. Back To Top    #4
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: water level for closing

    I would get a sumbersible pump, and drain all the rainwater off the top of the cover. Then you can accurately check the water level inside the pool.

    Is this a liner pool? Is that why you are concerned about the level under the cover?

    (You can create a signature with your pool specs...)
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    Re: water level for closing

    Yes it is a liner pool. We have a submersible pump and DH had it on all day Sunday and drained it to about 12" below the skimmer which freaked me out. I have had the water on about 6 hours now trying to get it about 4 " below the skimmer. He got most of the water out of the skimmer box. I'll test my new Shamwows and see how they work soaking up the rest! We have so many leaves from very windy weather lately. I do pump the cover when I can during the winter but I know of no one else who does that around here. We have a leaf net on and will take that off when all the trees are bare and then I will pump the water off the cover. I'll check the level again when I do that. I will have to remember that the pool boys don't drain the pool any more but it would have been nice of them to let me know before they came to cover it, not after.

    I thought I had made a signature with my pool specs. Must have been another forum
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    Re: water level for closing

    Ok-I do have my pool specs in my signature but it doesn't show up unless one clicks on my profile. It used to display automatically. How do I get it to show on my posts?
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

  7. Back To Top    #7
    polyvue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, California USA
    Posts
    1,215

    Re: water level for closing

    Quote Originally Posted by poolbee
    Ok-I do have my pool specs in my signature but it doesn't show up unless one clicks on my profile. It used to display automatically. How do I get it to show on my posts?
    Click on User Control Panel (see top upper left below TFP emblem), then under Options, click Profile, Edit Signature. Or just click here. Click on Submit when you're done adding/editing.

    EDIT Yes, I see your signature information also when clicking on Profile. I don't see any reason it shouldn't be showing up. I'm sure one the of moderators will help in this situation. END EDIT

    Edited by Greg October 8, 2009 6:15 PM PDT
    14,555 gal in-ground 16'x29' white plaster Pool w/spa (2007); Goldline Aqua Logic AQL-PS-8 control w/Aqua Cell 15 Salt Water Chlorination (SWCG); Hayward TriStar 1HP (1.85 SF) main / 1.5HP (1.60 SF) spa pumps; Hayward Swimclear cart filter C4025, ColorLogic LED lights; Tankless SP-18-4 electric heater; Polaris 280 cleaner.
    __
    View of spiral galaxy in Ursa Major NGC6217 - Hubble Telescope 2009

  8. Back To Top    #8
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: water level for closing

    Quote Originally Posted by poolbee
    Ok-I do have my pool specs in my signature but it doesn't show up unless one clicks on my profile. It used to display automatically. How do I get it to show on my posts?
    Go to the User Control Panel - under Board Preferences, select "Edit Posting Defaults" and make sure that the "Attach My Signature by Default" is set to Yes. (You probably want the "smilies" enabled too if that doesn't say yes.)
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Burlington, ON, Canada
    Posts
    325

    Re: water level for closing

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulR
    The idea is to keep ice from cracking either the skimmer itself or any of the piping. Lowering the water level is a way to keep ice out of the skimmer.
    --paulr
    The pool company used a gizmo in the skimmer. This should protect the skimmer from cracking if the water in it freezes, shouldn't it?
    16x28 Roman, 55000 litres, salt water, Zodiac Duoclear 130 (mineral cartridge removed!!!), inground, vinyl liner
    Hayward Tri-star 1HP (1.85) pump, Hayward sand filter
    Nine Fafco Sunsaver 4x10 solar panels, Jandy LX 250 natural gas heater
    Jandy Aqualink PDA with Sub Panel Power Centre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •