Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Drained pool and finally got my CYA down. Now what?

1. Back To Top    #1

Drained pool and finally got my CYA down. Now what?

I'm new to this so I definitely don't want to add anything to the pool without first getting yalls advice! Cya was at 80 but I drained have the pool and got it down to about 45.

FC 1
    CC 1
    PH 7.6
    TA 160
    CYA 45

So what should I do next?

Mikayla Duncan, Oklahoma 6,000 gallon 18ft Coleman metal frame pool. Intex sand filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Drained pool and finally got my CYA down. Now what?

Your new numbers are looking better, but the elevated CC would indicate your pool has some excess organics struggling to be oxidized. Your FC is also quite low. For now, consider your CYA as "50". Elevate your FC to about "8" for now. Keep the FC at 8 for about a day or two and re-test the CC each day. If the CC remains above 0.5, then you might consider doing an overnight (OCLT) test to ensure there is no algae trying to form.

Simply elevating the FC to 8 might do the trick though. Let's ensure your pool is algae-free and can remove those excess CCs first, then we can help you address lowering the TA a little if needed (later). Hope that helps.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Okay the pool calc says to add 87oz of bleach to achieve a FC of 8. I have some liquid chlorine on hand. Would it be okay to add that instead of bleach?

Mikayla Duncan, Oklahoma 6,000 gallon 18ft Coleman metal frame pool. Intex sand filter.

4. Back To Top    #4