Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CYA at 0 - should I use this

  1. Back To Top    #1

    CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Hello all.
    I just purchased the Taylor chem set and it tells me that my CYA is 0. I confirmed that I did the test properly by doing the same with a known soln of 55 (I purchased the soln), and came out with the set reading of 55.
    The pool calc tells me to add 288 grams of stabilizer. I bought this http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows...Stabilizer.jsp

    Before I add it, I want to confirm that it is the correct product - is it?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Before I add it, I want to confirm that it is the correct product - is it?
    It doesn't appear to be.

    The label states that it is copper sulfate, which is often sold as algaecide, but I'm not aware of it being uses as 'stabilizer'. Use of copper is not generally recommended around here, even as an algaecide, as it can cause other problems such as staining.

    You need a stabilizer or conditioner composed of cyanuric acid, commonly called CYA.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Eastern Canada
    Posts
    54

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Doesn't appear to be what you are looking for. Can't find any on their website. Here's a link to the stuff you need at another popular Canadian hardware store:

    http://www.homehardware.ca/Products/...enturion_1_8kg
    18X36' 25000 gal Jacuzzi vinyl Inground Pool (1985) with resin sidewalls, newer Jacuzzi 1 hp two-speed pump and sand filter. Raypak propane heater, Rainbow 320 chlorinator (mostly use bleach).
    Softtub 220 portable hot tub.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    I buy most of my pool chemicals at Canadian Tire. One of the things I like is that my local store puts a bunch of bleach out in the pool section as well, and at a reasonable price.

    That isn't what you want. You want something called "Stabilizer" though, but not that one. It's usually in their pool section, and looks very similar to the pH UP and pH down containers (I know this because I accidentally bought a few pH UP ones last time I refilled my pool and needed CYA.

    You'll know you have the right thing if you read the back and it has big warnings about only adding it to the pool once on filling etc.
    Jim

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,085

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Quote Originally Posted by ronatola
    Hello all.
    I just purchased the Taylor chem set and it tells me that my CYA is 0. I confirmed that I did the test properly by doing the same with a known soln of 55 (I purchased the soln), and came out with the set reading of 55.
    [EDIT] Oh wait...never mind. I just saw a new thread here that answers my question. [END-EDIT]

    Where can you get a standardized solution of CYA? Do you have a link to that? This would be a nice way of people getting comfortable with their CYA test readings, knowing if they've got the right lighting conditions, knowing if the dot has fully disappeared, etc. We get this question a lot and though we refer them to the Taylor link here, it would be nice to have a standardized solution as another way to "learn" how to do the test. It's not critically important, but would be nice to have.

    Richard
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Taylor R-7065-E is Cyanuric Acid Standard 50 ppm. They only appear to sell it in fairly large bottles, sizes E and F.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    [quote=chem geek]
    Quote Originally Posted by

    Where can you get a standardized solution of CYA? Do you have a link to that? This would be a nice way of people getting comfortable with their CYA test readings, knowing if they've got the right lighting conditions, knowing if the dot has fully disappeared, etc. We get this question a lot and though we refer them to the Taylor link [url=http://www.taylortechnologies.com/ChemistryTopicsCM.ASP?ContentID=44
    here[/url], it would be nice to have a standardized solution as another way to "learn" how to do the test. It's not critically important, but would be nice to have.

    Richard
    You can find the premaid soln here
    CYA-STD Cyanuric Acid Standardized Solution (50 ppm) 60 mL 4,99 $
    http://piscines-apollo.com/english_taylor.htm

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    326

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Quote Originally Posted by chem geek
    Where can you get a standardized solution of CYA? Do you have a link to that? This would be a nice way of people getting comfortable with their CYA test readings, knowing if they've got the right lighting conditions, knowing if the dot has fully disappeared, etc. We get this question a lot and though we refer them to the Taylor link here, it would be nice to have a standardized solution as another way to "learn" how to do the test. It's not critically important, but would be nice to have.
    I repackage the bigger 473 mL sizes of CH, pH, TA and CYA standards in 60 mL bottles exactly for those reasons. The feedback I'm getting from the CYA standard is that the customers adjust their technique (lighting, holding the vial etc) to read the 50 ppm.

    A quick way to learn.


    Paul

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    326

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Quote Originally Posted by ronatola
    Before I add it, I want to confirm that it is the correct product - is it?
    It's copper sulfate. The (French language) MSDS is on my site. I had a short email exchange with the "inventor" about the product's claims to "stabilize pH". Copper sulfate by itself doesn't stabilize pH.

    Want to know the secret ingredient ?

    . . . take a tablespoon or so of the product and mix it with vinegar !

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    326

    Re: CYA at 0 - should I use this

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob
    I buy most of my pool chemicals at Canadian Tire.
    Out of curiosity and to help a fellow member I just bought a jug of Purox brand chlorinating liquid from Canadian Tire to test it. (It's a 5 liter jug but you only need 0.5 mL for the test.)

    On the label it's advertised as 10.8% NaOCl/weight, 10.3% Cl/weight but it tests out as

    <drumroll>
    . . .

    5.4% NaOCl/w and 5.6% Cl/weight !!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •