Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

  1. Back To Top    #1

    New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Great Site! I stopped using chlorine tabs in my chlorinater after reviewing your site. My CYA level is out of control and I want to drain my pool but I was told that draining is not recommened because I live in Arizona and we alrealy have 100+ degree days. The pool store recommened numerous backwashes instead. Is draining still safe? I have a plaster/pebble pool surface with a tile/grout waterline border. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    Fc 5
    Tc 5
    ph 7.4
    TA 130
    Ch 260
    CYA 184
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Welcome!

    You should be able to safely drain down to the skimmer/return level. Is their concern the exposed pool surface? It's not exposed for very long...

    Doing it in cycles will use more water, and it will take several to bring the CYA into acceptable range. But it is a good idea, that CYA is just too high and the problem is it could in reality be higher. A series of partial drains, refills, and retesting will tell the picture.

    Do you have your own test kit yet?

    What kind of pool is it? Above ground or Inground?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Quote Originally Posted by frustratedpoolmom
    Welcome!

    You should be able to safely drain down to the skimmer/return level. Is their concern the exposed pool surface? It's not exposed for very long...

    Doing it in cycles will use more water, and it will take several to bring the CYA into acceptable range. But it is a good idea, that CYA is just too high and the problem is it could in reality be higher. A series of partial drains, refills, and retesting will tell the picture.

    Do you have your own test kit yet?

    What kind of pool is it? Above ground or Inground?
    Their concern is the exposed pebble pool surface in this heat. I dont think it will be an issue if it is drained and immediatly refilled but if I can get the CYA level down with numerous partial drains like you mentioned then I will do that. My pool is an inground with a pebble/plaster surface and yes, I have a Taylor brand test kit.
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    What are night time temps? Maybe you can do it all during darkness?
    23,000 gallon in ground pool with rock waterfall and spillover spa, Aqualink control system, Polaris 380 cleaner, Purex Triton Clean&Clear Plus cartridge filter. Located in The Woodlands, Texas.

    Pool owner since Nov 2008, Trouble Free since April 2009. Happy to help when I can.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    your cc level is high.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Guest

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Quote Originally Posted by valleyofthesun
    Fc 5
    Cc 5
    IF this is correct then your TC is 10 since FC + CC = TC and you need to shock to get rid of the CC but I suspect this is either a typo or testing error.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    28,406

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    You can drain and refill simultaneously.

    A colder fill water should stay near the bottom of the pool. You can take your fill hose to the bottom and anchor it there to insure that.

    At the same time your could withdraw water from the opposite end of the pool somewhere near the top. If you can match the rates, your pool water with the high CYA will slowly be replaced.

    This will take somewhat more water but your CYA is really almost unmanageable and you need to make some positive steps towards reducing it.
    Dave S. - Forum owner
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    You can drain and refill simultaneously.

    A colder fill water should stay near the bottom of the pool. You can take your fill hose to the bottom and anchor it there to insure that.

    At the same time your could withdraw water from the opposite end of the pool somewhere near the top. If you can match the rates, your pool water with the high CYA will slowly be replaced.

    This will take somewhat more water but your CYA is really almost unmanageable and you need to make some positive steps towards reducing it.
    I like your idea. I will try it. Thanks
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  9. Back To Top    #9
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    I suspect testing error on the CC, but when you have to do that much draining anyway it's best to do the draining first then adjust the other numbers.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Thanks to all that responded. I used the great idea of draining and filling at the same time. I bought a cheap $60.00 pump at the hardware store with a low flow rate. I didnt want an expensive pump with a large flow rate because my fill hose would not be able to keep up. I matched the flow rates at about 250 gallons per hour and left it going for about 24 hours. It worked, my CYA went from 184 to 74.

    Here are my new levels

    Fc 6
    Tc 6
    ph 7.4
    Ta 120
    Ch 160
    CYA 74
    Temp 84

    Does anyone have any suggestions on these numbers? Should I drain/fill a bit more to get my CYA to 30-50 ppm range or will it go down with time and weekly backwashes? And, I no longer use the pucks! Also, should I work on getting my Ta down to 70-90 range?
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Are you in Phoenix? You could probably do fine w/CYA of 74. Lots of sun on your pool? Many folks in your area run a higher CYA. Maybe some of them could respond.

    Nice job on your numbers

    Unless your are having problems with constant pH rise, I'd leave your TA alone.

    You do need to increase your CH levels. See "Recommended Levels" in Pool School.

    Don't let your FC drop below about 6 to stay safe. See the CYA/Chlorine Chart in my sig.

    If I understand correctly, you have an inground pool and that should be listed in your sig.

    ETA: How are you getting thes test #'s? CYA 74? What test kit? Pool store?
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    Are you in Phoenix? You could probably do fine w/CYA of 74. Lots of sun on your pool? Many folks in your area run a higher CYA. Maybe some of them could respond.

    Nice job on your numbers

    Unless your are having problems with constant pH rise, I'd leave your TA alone.

    You do need to increase your CH levels. See "Recommended Levels" in Pool School.

    Don't let your FC drop below about 6 to stay safe. See the CYA/Chlorine Chart in my sig.

    If I understand correctly, you have an inground pool and that should be listed in your sig.

    ETA: How are you getting thes test #'s? CYA 74? What test kit? Pool store?
    Thanks for the feedback...First, yes my pool is in ground (typo on my part/I changed in signature). I do live in Phoenix with plenty of sun on the pool so I will leave my CYA level at 74. I dont know yet about constant Ph rise since I just started using this method (so far great) but will monitor it.
    As far as the numbers, I used my Taylor 2005 test kit and came up with 70 to 80 CYA so I took a sample to pool store and they came up with 74. I called Taylor and they said I could convert my 2005 to a 2006 with the addition of R-0870-I and R-0871-A and a new instruction sheet (instruction 5811). This will save me from buying a whole new test kit.
    I havent checked, but from my understanding, we have very hard water in Phoenix. Do you think I can get away with leaving my CH at 160 since it will most likely creep up as time goes by with the addition of fill water and large evaporation here?
    Thanks again for the help
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  13. Back To Top    #13
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    I would go ahead an up the CH - since you replaced so much water and your CH actually dropped because of it, then it would appear your water doesn't have as much calcium as you need.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    I suggest you verify your CH test (testing pool and fill water) before adjusting. Testing chems still good?

    Doing some reading, it appears your local CH is around 300 to 900?
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    I just tested my fill water and the Ch is 120. I tested my pool water yesterday and got a Ch of 200 while the pool store came up with 160 for the Ch of my pool. I thought the water here in the valley had a higher Ch like you wrote. I called my pool store and they would only tell me that the Ch varies on where our municipality is currently getting our water from. I would rather not add any ch to the pool because historically it climbs every year to the point where I have to drain about every other year due to the Ch level. Im pretty confident my Ch in the pool is around 200. You think I can just leave it at this level and let it rise on its one without causing any damage? Also, my test kit is about 2 years old (Taylor k-2005). I did have to replace reagents R0001 and R0002 due to giving out bad readings (verified with new reagents). You think I should replace all the other reagents? The others seem ok since I have verified the readings with the pool store.
    Thanks again for all the help. I have come a long way in the past week and I see a light at the end of the tunnel!
    Pool Size 10,000 gallons
    Sand Filter
    In Ground "Pebble Tech" (plaster)

  16. Back To Top    #16
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: New to site, need some advice on CYA level

    If you are going to leave the CH low, keep the PH at 7.2 or higher at all times, maybe even 7.4, till the CH level comes up some more.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •