Redding CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-20
Newbie here - bought a house this past October with a 16000 gallon built in pool.
Purchased the TF-Pro Salt test kit and have been faithfully doing my weekly testing.
I upgraded 2 old fixed speed pumps to a single VR Pentair pump and also had a SWG installed. It's not yet connected to the IntelliCenter since the water has been too cold. Hopefully in a few weeks.

Anyway - I am trying to get my pool chemicals in good shape before we turn on the SWG.
We have had lots of rain the past few months here in Northern CA. My chemicals have been holding in pretty good.
My pH has been creeping up. I have an Extech pH meter that I have calibrated so I get pretty accurate readings. Oddly my TA has gone down some.
Right now, with the pool water is at 60F my pH is 8.0 and my TA is around 60.

I would like to bring that pH down - but am unsure if I should first try to get the TA up some and then the pH or pH first then deal with TA.

Advice?
Thanks in advance :)

Post a full set of current test results from your TF-Pro Salt.
Use the test kit reagent for the pH test, not the meter for this posting

FC
CC
pH
TA
CH
CYA
Water temperature

Or share your PoolMath logs here.
Set app to Track Combine Chlorine, Track CSI, Track Water Temperature, Track Salt

Knowing your fill, replacement, water TA helps with determing management method was well. My TA will slowly, gradually, creep up due to high TA fill even with keeping my pH in the upper 7's. I then have to up the acid and aeration doses to knock it back down to 60 and go then back to smaller maintenance dosing. If I ever overshot and lowered my TA below my comfort zone, I know it's coming back up on it's own.

Reactions: Methuselah