where do you buy misc parts and supplies?

ramblinwreck001

Silver Supporter
Bronze Supporter
Jun 11, 2023
Austin, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Where do you folks purchase basic parts for your pool equipment? What I mean is sub-$100 parts (misc cleaner parts, check valves, etc), not big/expensive equipment like robots or pumps.

I'm new to owning a pool, and in the last month have needed various parts for my equipment (e.g. Polaris 280 parts, check valves for plumbing, etc), and it has been much more difficult than I expected. My options seem to be:
  1. Go to local pool store (Leslies or Pinch A Penny), where I will overpay significantly, and probably have to wait for them to order anyway. And let's be honest, who here at TFP wants to go to the pool store. :)
  2. Order from Amazon which has become a complete cesspool of pop-up 3rd party companies selling low-quality knock-off parts being passed off as OEM parts. (I've already had to return a number of fake parts for my Polaris 280).
  3. Order from some other online pool suppliers, and take the shipping hit on small orders. Even this seems hit or miss depending on what I'm looking for, either they don't have what I need or the shipping makes it cost prohibitive for small orders.
I don't even mind paying a reasonable shipping fee, because Amazon isn't really "free" if I have to spend 30 minutes sorting through sellers to find a decent one and/or have to make multiple trips for returns.

Case in point -- right now I'm looking for a replacement Jandy check valve flapper (Jandy 7056). If I search "Jandy 7056" on Amazon I get a list of no-name knock-offs. This one (Amazon.com) looks promising based on the description, but is only sold by shady looking resellers, overseas and/or brand new with zero ratings or history, and not fulfilled by Amazon which means returns are gonna be a hassle and likely at cost to me.