evabobeva

Jul 30, 2022
Tucson, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I’m still learning about my pool, and I can’t figure out what position this valve handle should be in. It says “closed” on the black part, but there are no other labels anywhere. Should I have it closed? Open? What position is open? When I bought the house it was in what I guess could be called the 5 o’clock position if the center pipe leading to the pump is considered 12 o’clock (I hope that makes sense). What are the pipes coming out of either side? I know the center pipe is the one that goes to the pump.

I recently cleaned my filters, and thought maybe I was also supposed to backwash them, but I’m not finding any info on a system that looks like mine, so I have no idea how to backwash it. Where can I find this info?

Attachments

• IMG_0977.jpeg
    IMG_0977.jpeg
    511.2 KB · Views: 24
Eva,

Your signature says you have a cartridge filter. Cartridge filters cannot be backwashed. You have to open the filter and clean the cartridges.

Since the valve is connected to your pump, then most likely, one of the pipes goes to your skimmer and the other to your main drain. But there are other possibilities.. It could go to 2 skimmers. (Do you have two skimmers?) It could go to a skimmer and a vacuum port in the side wall of your pool. (Do you have a vac port?)

The valve in your pic is set so that both pipes are fully open.

We are here and you are there with the pool.. Which one of us is in a better position to figure out what the valve does? :mrgreen:

Tell us more about your pool...

Thanks,

Jim R.

• Haha
Reactions: clambert1273
Eva,

Your signature says you have a cartridge filter. Cartridge filters cannot be backwashed. You have to open the filter and clean the cartridges.