What does DE look like in a pool if its getting in through the filter?

ionizer

Gold Supporter
Jun 7, 2016
Marlboro, NJ
So I've been doing the TFP methods for 3-4 years now and it goes well.

This year (as expected because I have a gap in my cover between pool and waterfall) I opened green swamp. I began the SLAM process and my pool turned blue, but it is still a very cloudy blue. This morning was the first day my CC was <0.5

Additionally, I am noticing this "gray like" material at the bottom. When I try to suck it up with my handheld vacuums, it is so fine it seems to just come out and not get stuck in the filters. I am wondering - is it DE?

I replaced my filters (the entire set) last year, but I am wondering if my pump running at 3400 rpm at times is causing the filter to break and maybe DE is now leaking through it and going back into the pool? Or is that just dead algae? I'll try to get a picture soon, but it won't do it justice.

Does anyone have a picture of what DE looks like when it comes back through the pool returns into the pool? Water is blue, but just cloudy.

I intend to open up my filter this weekend, and check, but asking if this is like a "definite sign" or just normal algae killing process

CYA: 25
FC: 11-12
CC: 0-0.25
ph: 7.5

I bet it is dead algae... you have to sneak up on it with the vacuum or it will just move around...

No need to test PH when your FC is over 10.. Also your CYA is 30, we have no way of testing below 30... :)

It would be very hard to see the difference in a pool that's already full of dead algae. When the pool is clean and clear, DE getting past the filter and to the returns looks like a stream of cloudy, grey water. The pool will then start to cloud up. However, if you switch off the pump and wait, the cloudiness will start to subside as the DE falls out of solution. But once you start up the pump or run a vacuum, it will get cloudy again. That's why a DE break through can be such a headache to clear.