Viron Series Salt Chlorinator

ericks

Sep 3, 2023
Adelaide
Hi everyone. I have just registered. My background is Industrial Electrical and Electronic repairs/design.
Just wanted to ask a question regarding the mentioned unit. A family friend asked me to have a look at the unit. Basically she has the timer set to start at 09:00 for three hours. The problem is she sets it to auto...it starts at the preset time "09:00"...goes to 12:00 as expected but when it stops after 12 it goes into manual mode so it would not start the following morning. Her pool Tech wants her to replace the unit $1600. I had a look at checked the manual but i can't seem to find why it would revert back to manual after doing one timed cycle. There are no error messages. I would really appreciate any assistance from someone with exp with these units.

Many thanks
Erick

Geday Erick and welcome to TFP,

The way you’ve described it it sounds like a fault. I’m not an expert but I do run an Astral Viron. How old is it? Replacing it is not the only solution, you can get them serviced and repaired. I would contact a tech from Astral.

I mostly control mine via the app which has on occasion looked like it had accepted a change on my phone but the change hadn‘t been registered by the chlorinator. In normal “auto” mode the app controller should look like the pic below. Clicking on the timers button brings up the 4 possible timer operations. Mine is currently showing it on standby, auto mode with no timers active because its not during a regular timer cycle.

IMG_5959.jpg

Welcome!

I'm also running a Viron, and didn't have that problem so far. I had others, like the unit for the life of it not accepting some start/end combinations made via the app, but happy to accept them when programmed as start/run-time directly at the control box. Anyway.

I assume you are talking about 9:00 am until noon? Or 9:00 pm until midnight?