Vacuum and cleaner-bot hose question(s)

Aznewmom

May 22, 2021
Tucson, AZ
Hello there. I am still pretty new to all this DIY pool stuff. I hope I am posting to the right place.

I wrote some posts, few times, a couple years ago, when I first found TFP. I was just getting my pool going and had a lot to learn. I rebuilt my Hayward cleaner all on my own and seemed to have things going pretty well after a couple of months of TFP/DIY. (y) :cool: Then, the monsoon season hit, everything went wacky, and one of the storms killed all my equipment. I could not afford to have it fixed at that time, so it was back to square one. :(

Forward to last year, when I wrote one post here after this mess. I checked back in to ask about the price I was quoted, what was to be replaced, etc. That was probably early last spring or summer. I went through with the re-boot and spent a pretty penny. New, properly sized pump and sand filter, a new skimmer, piping, and electrical. It hurt, but I think it will be worth it in the long run. I will post more about the set up in another thread, later. However, I wanted to give a bit of background.

I have spent the last couple of weeks trying to get rid of some green & the beginning of a mosquito situation. I have spent a lot of time learning things here and playing about with my new equipment. I've also ordered up chlorine, some tabs to get my zero CYA up, and new reagents for my now two year old kit. I feel like I am starting all over again, like I did when I first found this site! I am basically preparing to do my very first SLAM, and want to make sure I do it right. I think I'm ready to start the process next week. 🤞