Transitioning from Pool Store Method to TFPC - What Should I do First?

Interesting Kim!

BoDarville - thanks - that OCLT test makes sense. Is the FAS-DPD test the chlorine drop test under the weekly tests for the TF-100 test kit?

I am just starting out myself (TF-100 still in the process of shipping to my house) so I can't give you a definitive answer but I think the FAS-DPD test would be a weekly test and the standard OTO test would be more of a daily test. The TF-100 does include both. However, for the overnight test you definitely want very precise numbers so the FAS-DPD test is the way to go. You also probably just want to stick with the FAS-DPD test until your pool gets stable and consistent.

By the way, how long did it take to get your kit in the mail, and where did you order it from. I was told to order from poolsupplyworld because it ships faster.

Also I just want to say I love your commitment :p.

KASCPAMBA said:
Is the FAS-DPD test the chlorine drop test under the weekly tests for the TF-100 test kit?
There are several members who use the OTO for chlorine testing on most days and use the more precise FAS-DPD test once or twice a week. Others, like me, only use the FAS-DPD test. You definitely want to use the FAS-DPD test for the OCLT and for SLAMming - Shock Level And Maintain if the results of the OCLT dictate a need to SLAM.

Thanks Herdo, BoDarville & Kim! Herdo - my test kit took 9 days to arrive from NC; I ordered it from TFTestKits and it went UPS from NC to CA. When I ordered a replacement of the R-0013 it only took 2-3 days via USPS. Both times I picked the least expensive shipping method.

I'm planning on doing the OCLT test tonight.

As of today, FC = about 1.5 (an improvement but I put in a second dose of bleach after the 2nd test yesterday so that may be why). PH still = about 7.65. I will use the powder test for the OCLT test tonight and in the am.

I added my first name to my signature - it may be easier to type lol.