Temperature issue for Spa

Jun 7, 2015
Rocklin CA
I can't get my spa to heat up above "lukewarm" -- maybe 88 degrees. I have a Pentair MasterTemp 250 heater, ~4 years old, worked fine for years. Now, it reads ~15 degrees hotter on the inflow water temp than the water actually is. For example, when I turn it on, and the spa water temp is actually ~60 degrees, the Pentair LCD screen says 75 degrees. It then proceeds to fire normally and heat the water up to the spa temp setting of 100 deg (or the 104 max), but the actual water temp reached and stabilized is ~85-~88 degrees and it won't get any hotter.

I thought it was a bad thermocouple/thermister (part 42001-0053S) -- but I replaced it with a new one, testing the resistance on both, and both are in spec and read the Ohms for a temperature that 15 degrees lower than what the LCD screen shows (used this table: File:10K thermistor chart.png - Further Reading )

The Control board show no errors. Anyone have any ideas on what is going on or how to fix? Thanks

Put a 10K resistor connected to the temperature sensor wires. If the heater reads 76F then the sensor is bad.

If you don't get a good temperature then check the wires for critters chewing on it or replace the PCB.

10k-resistor-test-rig1-jpg.481393

pentair-mastertemp-with-10k-resistor-test-jpg.481394

pentair-mastertemp-with-10k-resistor-temp-jpg.481395

I heard that you can recalibrate the sensor inside the panel? Maybe it’s calibrated to -15 degrees so it always shows 15 degrees less than what it reads from the sensor? Check the settings.

Maybe I am confused…

• What is the actual water temperature as measured by a separate thermometer?
  • What temperature is displayed on the EasyTouch system?
  • What temperature is displayed on the MasterTemp control panel?

Hi All, thanks for responding to my thread. It took me a few weeks but I finally got back to this.