T-100 TA levels, pH meter, Chlorine Distribution, Pump Explosion (Have fun)

Jake&Clan

Jun 17, 2022
Cedarville, Ohio
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hey all. I'm somewhat new to pool chemistry/pump/etc., (a few years experience with those 2500 gallon vinyl Walmart specials plus my 2nd year on our current 13k gallon above ground). The current pool is a 24' 13k gallon pool with a 1600gph pump and a DE filter (that takes about 4lb of DE).

For years I used a k2007 test kit but y'all convinced me (rightfully so) to upgrae to a T-100 which I love. I have a few very random questions that really probably fit until more than one "forum" category

We live in southwest Ohio. Our pool temps rarely drop below 84 degrees. Last bunch of water readings were 87, 85, 86, 80, 82, 81, 82, 81. Those later ones were the result of the solar cover (but churning from the pump helps ensure it's somewhat accurate and not JUST the top 6 inches of water). The pool gets very little shade. I use the Pool Math app to track everything.

TA
The question: Do you I keep adding muriatic acid (and pH up) to bring the TA down, discard the T-100's result on the TA, buy new #9 reagent, etc.,

Explanation