Jun 1, 2023
Houston
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Howdy everyone,

I'm new to TFP and I have to say I wish I had found out about y'all much earlier. We built a 30' round above ground pool last September so didn't get much time to use it before closing.

And by closing, I mean I stopped looking at the pool until April of this year and left the pump off.

So of course, came back to the pool this year, dark green, big mess. I spent a lot of money, bought a lot of unnecessary things, just wasted time in general.

Eventually I got the pool mostly clean, or so I thought. Although the pool looked clean and clear, there was some left over algae that was and is growing back. I'm using 10% liquid chlorine for the SLAM process. So I'm currently in my third day of SLAMing. Here are my numbers as of this morning:

FC: 11
CC: 1
PH: Not checking during SLAM
TA: 130
CH: 260
CYA: 30

I've added the suggested amount of chlorine to get back to 12 since this check but haven't checked again, going to do so again shortly. Last night, my FC was 15 and my CC was 0.5.

Couple things about CYA, I was originally testing at Leslie's before I bought the TF-PRO. Don't shoot me. But my original reading from them was 9. So I added 4 pounds of Pool Mate 1-2604B Swimming Pool Stabilizer and Conditioner, added that to a sock, soaked it in the skimmer for 30 minutes, then released it on recirculate through the pump. Was still super low, below the 30ppm reading, so I added 1 gallon of Liquid Stabilizer, was reading around 30, then another gallon of Liquid Stabilizer, and I'm still reading around 30. I followed the directions which for the liquid stabilizer, says that 1 gallon should treat 32ppm for 10k gallons. For my size pool, 2 gallons should raise it roughly 30ppm but it's still really low. Am I doing something wrong here or what am I missing?