SLAM Management

SpaWife

Silver Supporter
Nov 9, 2022
CA
Pool Size
I'm new to the TFP Protocol, and am loving it! I'm almost 3 months in to it, and am not even pondering draining & refilling like I used to have to do. (Pre-TFP protocol I had to drain & refill sometimes monthly, and definitely by the end of 2-2.5 months ... now I realize due to high CYA).

I have been trying to SLAM once a week, as recommended. Is this the same as shocking? Or rather, does it serve the same purpose as shocking?

I SLAMed this morning - added enough chlorine that Pool Math's Effects of Adding said would get me to 17 FC (1.33 cups of 7.5% bleach, since I started at 0 oops). I was confident in how my numbers had been steady really for a couple months (it was perfectly balanced 3 days ago: 7.2 pH, 50 alk), so I didn't bother testing it before adding the chlorine. Well, I did do a test-strip which showed 0 chlorine.
I let that circulate, did some errands, and have now come back to evaluate.

Here are my afternoon numbers:
9.2 pH (WOW - that's high! It had been 7.2 just 3 days ago when I last tested. Is the higher pH because of my addition of 1.33 cups of bleach today? Will that go away?)
50 alk
175 hardness
19.5 FC (oops! That's higher than the 17 I was aiming for..)
1.5 CC (I've been carrying a 1.5 CC for a month, and for the month before that I'd been carrying a .5 CC)
30 CYA (It had been at 40 CYA, although I just re-tested and realized it's at 30. Maybe due to having added water a week ago?)

My main question is about the pH... Will it settle once that chlorine cooks off? I've tried to learn not to over-react to numbers since that results in the yo-yo game. But obviously that pH is way too high! If I adjust it with pH decreaser, the alkalinity will also go lower, right?