recommendation for brand of suction valves

AMHOA

Oct 22, 2023
Sullivan, Missouri
I need to replace a 2" suction valve, and for one thing, I can't find a matching one being sold (Colonial III seems to be the model/series, white pvc, probably cheap), and another issue is that our valves seem susceptible to jamming up. We have a sand beach close by and lots of it ends up in the pool, so I'm assuming lots of sand being vacuumed is the root of the jamming issue. Is anyone familiar with a valve designed to facilitate easy disassembly and cleaning? Bear with me, I'm new to pools, got conscripted into taking care of the subdivision pool. Thx, Bill

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

Post a picture or two of these suction valves?
If they are either 2-way or 3-way valves to either isolate or divert water flow, look into the Jandy Never-Lube valves.

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

Post a picture or two of these suction valves?
If they are either 2-way or 3-way valves to either isolate or divert water flow, look into the Jandy Never-Lube valves.
a couple pics showing model #'s, etc. I'd prefer to replace parts and leave the valve body in place, but I haven't found anyone selling this brand and style. A found a catalog of Colonial valves, but there is nothing shown like these, and it may not even be the same company. I'm not crazy about the existing ones here regarding how often they need to be opened up for maintenance.

Attachments

• SuctionValves.jpg
    SuctionValves.jpg
    340.3 KB · Views: 16
  • SuctionValveModel#.jpg
    SuctionValveModel#.jpg
    108.7 KB · Views: 15
  • SuctionValveBrandname.jpg
    SuctionValveBrandname.jpg
    111 KB · Views: 15
Honestly, those ball valves and other like them are junk.
I'd replace them all with Jandy 2-way valves. The Jandy valves are rebuildable. I'm on my original Jandy valves - installed in 1999 and they are in the Arizona sun. The only thing i've done to them is replace the lid and shaft O-rings.

Reactions: DavidArmenB