Pool Test Results

PianoMan4:

Jun 1, 2023
Ontario, Canada
Good evening Pool Experts,

Long time listener, first time caller! Ok, so not really that long, but a casual reader of your site for a short while. We bought a used above ground pool and set it up the 2nd year of COVID, so that'd be 2021. Inherited a pile of pool chemicals from the former owner, and purchased whatever the pool store recommended - yeah, I was a newbie - it was a jug of stabilizer, a couple pails of pucks, some algecide stuff, probably other things...

I started doing some research on the web after getting started and found your site and ended up buying a Taylor 2006 (very hard to find these things in Canada) off Amazon - crazy expensive at around $150, but happy with it. I did all the tests, but pretty much just focused on managing chlorine levels and taking an occasional CYA reading last year. pH seemed to wander, but always stayed somewhat close to target and the water was clear so I left it alone. Overall, it went alright, as our pool is not near trees so stuff doesn't fall in often and the kids were in it almost every day.

I'm now creating a pool book and trying to summarize info from your site and get better at managing the pool and understanding the numbers. I recently created an account here and thought I would post today's results. I opened the pool mid-May this year, but didn't have easy access to liquid chlorine (no pool store in town), so I had just used pucks in stock so far. I found liquid chlorine this week (first store was out, found it at a second, not sure if there are shortages or why), so now I have 2x10L jugs. I'm told it runs 10-12%, depending on age.