Pool Start-up After drain

VargusAZ

May 29, 2020
Phoenix, AZ
Good morning,
After 4 years I decided to drain the pool before the Summer start in AZ. This is my first time draining the pool. It has been empty for 3-4 days and I am ready to fill it up.
I found some old threads about this topic but some of the recommendations were confusing to me.
Any recommendations before I start filling up the pool?
Should I measure all my levels while the pool is filling up lets say at 1/3?
I have some liquid chlorine and muriatic acid but will need to buy everything else from Leslie's if needed.
Thanks

Reactions: trentdi
Correct. Get the pool filled and the pump and filter running before adding any chemicals

First results are in:
Chlorine 0 Yellow Side
pH 7.8 Red Side
FC: 0ppm solution was clear there was no need to add the R0871 to clear the solution
CC 0.5ppm
TC 0.5ppm
CH 225ppm
TA: 140
CYA: The solution was clear I never got to the point where I could not see the dot

If I understand correctly, I need to add the following tomorrow:
208oz of liquid stabilizer to bring my CYA to 40
77oz of Bleach 10% to bring my FC to 4ppm

Do these result look normal? Especially the CYA
Should I use liquid or dry stabilizer?
Anything else I should adjust?

Save some money and use dry stabilizer - add it using the sock method.
Add about 3/4 gallon of liquid chlorine - 10% - a little higher than your planned 4 FC is fine.
Check FC daily and replenish as necessary.

Use muriatic acid to lower the pH to the low 7's to start working your TA of 140 down.
As the pH rises to 7.8-7.9, add muriatic acid to lower the pH to low 7's to continue working TA down to about 60.

No need to add calcium as high evaporation in AZ will bring the CH up as you add water.

Reactions: VargusAZ
Save some money and use dry stabilizer - add it using the sock method.
Add about 3/4 gallon of liquid chlorine - 10% - a little higher than your planned 4 FC is fine.
Check FC daily and replenish as necessary.