Pentair Mastertemp 400HD

thadius65

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 30, 2011
Bloomsburg, PA
I have a 9 year old Pentair Mastertemp 400HD. It has been very reliable, with the exception of a past thermister replacement and this past spring I had to replace the manifold due to a crack. It has been running since the manifold for two months no issues. Now, when I call for heat from my Hayward control panel, the Pentair gets power, LED display shows firmware, etc and the Pool On light turns on. Typically this is when it would fire, but I get no sounds, spark attempts or anything. Just the LED lit up with temp and Pool On. Any tips on what to look for in it's safety protocol? Is there a blinking light behind the control panel that will give me a code, or what are my initial troubleshooting steps. Thanks!

Flip the cover over so you can see the diagnostic LEDs on the board.

The following are the LEDs:

1. .....PS (Pressure Switch)
  2. .....HLS (High Limit Switch)
  3. .....SFS (Stack Flue Sensor)
  4. .....AFS (Air Flow Switch)
  5. .....AGS (Automatic Gas Shutoff).
  6. .....Service System
  7. .....Thermistor
  8. .....Heating
  9. .....Pool On
  10. ...Spa On
  11. ...Service Heater.

Took lid off, restarted everything to call for heat. Firmware shown, then Temperature in window, along with Pool On LED lit. None of the LEDs are lit on back panel, and no E01 on front panel. Will continue to read, but any tips in the meantime greatly appreciated.

** Oddness - I just pressed SPA button and manually set temp and it started right up. I may either have a control board issue. I need to isolate it from my hayward Pro Logic PL-PS-8 end to rule that out also, but that is merely "turn heater power on if pool temp is less than desired temp", and it is turning power on for heater.

More likely you have a bad membrane keypad and not a control board.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support