Pentair MasterTemp 400 Ignition Issue

hangingout

Mar 8, 2024
San Diego, CA
I am not a pool guy, but have a lot of knoledge of home heating systems. I have a Pentair MasterTemp 400 heater that sometimes fails to start up properly.
The process is you can hear it start up, the blower motor turns on, the gas valve clicks open, the heater lights (you can feel hot air out of the flue pipe), but then shuts down in about 5 seconds.
It does exact cycle 2 more times and then shuts down with the service heater light on, and no error number on the screen.
If I power off the heater and power it back on, it typically will start and stay on.

In a home HVAC system this is almost always a dirty flame sensor that needs to be cleaned. As I have googled around, I don't seem to be able to find if this heater has a flame sensor or where it would be.
Any help would be greatly apprecaited.
Thanks in advance.
Bob

Check the Fenwal LED blinking pattern.

Fenwal LED Light.

The LED will flash on for 1/4 second, then off for 1/4 second during a fault condition.

The pause between fault codes is 3 seconds.

The LED light on the Fenwal box can indicate the following problems:

Steady on - Internal Control Failure.

One flash - Air Flow fault.

Two flashes indicates flame no call for heat, then the Fenwal is detecting a flame current when it shouldn't be.

Three flashes indicates no flame current being sensed and ignition locked out.

I am not a pool guy, but have a lot of knoledge of home heating systems. I have a Pentair MasterTemp 400 heater that sometimes fails to start up properly.
The process is you can hear it start up, the blower motor turns on, the gas valve clicks open, the heater lights (you can feel hot air out of the flue pipe), but then shuts down in about 5 seconds.
It does exact cycle 2 more times and then shuts down with the service heater light on, and no error number on the screen.
If I power off the heater and power it back on, it typically will start and stay on.